My Pledge

I gave them my pledge
I agreed to the oath
I went on my missions
and did what they told me.

Right or wrong.
I did as I was told.

Many a rock I sat upon.
Barron lands
my eyes did come to know.
Every stretch of unwanted
black, desert space
had come to be
my stations
my posts.

Where the sun never shone.
Where no sun there was.
On fond thoughts
of warmth and fresh air
I did live.
Sweet memories
of friends
and good talk.

I sighed.
I shrugged.
I had given my pledge
taken my vows.
A good soldier was I,
A good officer I was.

I questioned nothing.
Year after year
I reported for duty.

The dreams that
had moved me when a boy
the hopes
the images that
leapt and sprang
from my mind
and my heart.
Were but that – dreams.

For the uniform
had not made me
braver still.
Had not bestowed
the courage
or strength I sought.
It had given only
the answers to
the lines in my father’s face
and the worry in my
mother’s eyes.

I inherited
the lonliness of my uniform
separated from all
that was precious to me.

In the War for Freedom
I planted the Flag.
Watching the dying
faces of my friends
hearing the cries
of life’s last breath.
With each
my heart became heavier
my fear stronger.

I was lost
I was tired.
My purpose
long forgotten.
My deeds less pure
my actions more human.
Each day
a nothing.
No tears left
only a dull ache.

In the night
I saw a shining!
it shone ever more
in my approach.
I sped toward the light
my heart lifted
my hopes rekindled.

More brilliant it became
as we drew closer
So sure was I…
so certain, so right…

The impact
the explosion
the screams of my crew
were swallowed…

The next thing
I knew
I was a small girl
sing songs
no one seemed to know.

copyright 2006

3 thoughts on “My Pledge

  1. I’ve really enjoyed all of the posts this week, and I especially liked this one, with its cool science fiction twist. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Mark. I wondered if anyone would get the little ironic twist at the end. πŸ˜‰

    I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the series – there a few more to come. LOL – though nothing involving zombies.
    sarah

  2. i think i enjoyed this one a little more because of the twist at the end….you said 8 from memory, so i’ll have to go back and do my math to see how many are still to come
    πŸ™‚

    Yes, just a touch of mirth.

    I think that there are five more to post.

    I am delighted that you are enjoying them.

    sarah

  3. Dammit! Now I gotta go read the other ones too!

    My apologies. May I offer you a coffee and a comfy chair to read? πŸ˜‰

    sarah

    PS: I keep trying to make comments on your blog but it won’t let me. It just doesn’t like me is all. 😦

Leave a comment